About Us

Our History

The Australia Day Council of the Northern Territory is a community based not-for-profit incorporated body. Established in 1986 we have been working with Northern Territory communities for thirty six years.

 While closely aligned to the Northern Territory Government and National Australia Day Council as well as other Australia Day Councils in other states and Territories we operate as an independent body responsible for our own management, events and activities, finance and governance.


The objects of the Australia Day Council NT are to work with and for the people of the Northern Territory to:

(a)               unite through reflection, celebration and inclusiveness;

(b)               foster and recognise excellence and service within the communities of the Northern Territory;

(c)               embrace cultural diversity and promote Australia Day with respect and integrity,

(d)               facilitate productive relationships across the Northern Territory; and

(e)               ensure the sustainability of the Association. 


Our Board

We are governed by a Board of Directors. Board vacancies are advertised publicly with members and the Chairman being appointed by the Chief Minister. All Board positions are honorary and members are volunteers.

  • Patron: His Honour Professor the Honourable Hugh Heggie PSM 
  • President: The Honourable Natasha Fyles MLA, Chief Minister of the Northern Territory
  • Chairman & Public Officer: Dr Richard Fejo
  • Vice Chair: Helen Summers
  • Treasurer: Shipra Soni
  • Board Members: Renae McGarvie, Malia Ford, Katherine Li, Dr Edwin Joseph, Neville Driver, Jodie Ryan, Robert Annis-Brown

Our Team

Chief Executive Officer: Anna McDonald

Administration Officer: Shanthi Annapareddy


Contact us

Level 2, NAB Building, 71 Smith Street, Darwin NT 0800

Postal Address: GPO Box 1934 Darwin NT 0801

Phone: 08 8989 5290

Email: office@adcnt.org.au


Sign up to our newsetter to stay up to date with all of our news.




Board Members

2021-2024 Strategic Plan.pdf [PDF Document, 4.93 MB]

2022 Annual Review

2022 Financial Statement

For historical copies of the above documents, please contact the office.