Each year our nation celebrates the achievement and contribution of eminent Australians through various awards for Australia Day, and awards that are associated with Australia Day.


The Citizen of the Year Award is predominantly run by local government across the states of Australia. It is a program rewarding community service at a local level and is administered through a nomination program, which is assessed by a local selection committee and/or Councillors, and Awards in the form or certificates and prizes are awarded at official Australia Day functions.

Award categories may include:

  • Citizen of the Year

  • Sportsperson of the Year

  • Senior Citizen of the Year

  • Student of the Year - this is determined by the administering local government organisation.

You should directly contact your local government organisation to see if it runs a Citizen of the Year Program.

For more information and resources to facilitate this program visit


The Australia Day Achievement Medallion is an inspiring way to acknowledge the contributions and performance of public sector staff. They provide government departments and agencies with the opportunity to acknowledge the contribution of their staff for outstanding performance of special projects or in performance of their core duties.

Australia Day Achievement Medallions are generally presented to recipients in the lead up to Australia Day. You may consider hosting an Australia Day event in your department and recognise recipients by including a presentation ceremony. A more formal event may include a guest speaker or presenter from your organisation, having the national flags (Australian, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islands) raised or integrating Australian writing and music.

Many organisations circulate the list of Australia Day Medallion recipients and their citations after the presentation

Learn about the 2018 recipients

How the program works

The criteria for or purpose of awarding Australia Day Achievement Medallions is determined by the organisation or department presenting them.

Both silver ($35.00) and bronze ($25.00) Medallions are available for purchase and each Medallion purchase includes a Certificate of Achievement. The Medallions have space for names to be engraved, however the coordination and cost of engraving is the responsibility of the organisation or department placing the order.


You can order Australia Day Achievement Medallions online, by email or by calling the National Australia Day Council on (02) 6120 0600.

Remember to include the number of medallions you require and your organisation's name and contact details. An invoice will be sent to you after your order is received.


The National Australia Day Council will publish a list of recipient’s names on its website following Australia Day. Please email the names to by 2 February 2018.


For over 55 years, the Australian of the Year Awards have celebrated the achievements and contributions of Australia’s finest – those who lead by example across all fields of endeavour for the benefit our nation. The Awards provide all Australians with the opportunity to recognise someone who makes them proud, in four categories:

  • Australian of the Year

  • Senior Australian of the Year (those aged 65 years or over)

  • Young Australian of the Year (ages 16 to 30)

  • Australia's Local Hero

The Awards program is run by the National Australia Day Council, and proudly sponsored by the Commonwealth Bank.

Every Australian can play their part in giving our nation’s best the recognition they deserve. Be great and nominate at:


On Australia Day and the Queen's Birthday holiday the Australian Government awards Australians who have contributed significantly to the Australian community with a range of Australian Honours.

This program is administered by the Council for the Order of Australia.


Secretary, Order of Australia
Government House
1800 552 275