Australia Day

26 January 2015

146 days to go

National Australia Day Council

The National Australia Day Council Limited (76 050 300 626) is the coordinating body for Australia Day celebrations across the nation and for the Australian of the Year Awards. The NADC heads a network of eight state and territory Australia Day affiliate organisations and 780 local Australia Day committees.

Established in 1979 as the National Australia Day Committee, the vision was to make future Australia Day celebrations 'truly national and Australia-wide'. In 1984 the Committee became the NADC, and two major dates since then - Australia's Bicentenary in 1988, and the Centenary of Federation in 2001 - shaped today's focus on encouraging Australians to participate in, and reflect on the meaning of, Australia Day.

A not-for-profit government owned social enterprise, within the Prime Minister's portfolio responsibilities, NADC has a close working relationship with the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and reports to the Commonwealth Parliament under the provisions of the Commonwealth Authorities and Companies Act (1997). The operations of the company are overseen by a board of Directors appointed by the Prime Minister.

The NADC is generously supported by the Australian Government through the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

National Australia Day Council and Reconciliation

While acknowledging there is much more to do, the NADC is proud of making a contribution to reconciliation. The NADC have developed, and are committed to a Reconciliation Action Plan, an initiative of Reconciliation Australia which enables organisations to turn good intentions into actions.

NADC thanks the staff of Reconciliation Australia for helping us appreciate the importance of Reconciliation. With their support, we take pride in our leadership role and hope others will join us in making a contribution to the process. Read our Reconciliation Action Plan here

National Australia Day Council Annual Reports

NADC Annual Report 2012-2013

NADC Annual Report 2011-2012

NADC Annual Report 2010 - 2011

NADC Annual Report 2009 - 2010

NADC Annual Report 2008 - 2009

NADC Annual Report 2007 - 2008

NADC Annual Report 2006 - 2007

NADC Annual Report 2005 - 2006

NADC Annual Report 2004 - 2005

National Australia Day Council Board

Mr Adam Gilchrist AM
Former wicket keeper/batsman
Australian Test and One Day International cricket teams


Ms Robbie Sefton
Sefton & Associates

Ms Janet Whiting (Chair, Audit Committee)
Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Professor Samina Yasmeen
Centre for Muslim States and Societies

Ms Elizabeth Kelly
Deputy Secretary, Governance
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Ms Carol Schwartz AM
Director Stockland and Director Bank of Melbourne

Dr Tim Soutphommasane
Race Discrimination Commissioner

Professor Ian Frazer AC
Translational Research Institute

Jason Glanville
Chief Executive Officer
National Centre of Indigenous Excellence

NADC was incorporated on 25 October 1990. Since then the NADC has had the following Chairs:

Lisa Curry Kenny               2000 - 2008
Kevan Gosper                   1996 - 2000
Phillip Adams                    1992 - 1996
John Newcombe                1990 - 1992

National Australia Day Council Staff

To contact staff, email addresses are in the format of


Jeremy Lasek
Chief Executive Officer

Brodie Nicholls 
Senior Project Manager

Petrina Stamenkovic
National Partnership Manager 

Bucky Toller
Digital Producer

Fiona Dolan
National Manager

Kayla Scott
Project Manager

Carolyn Ludovici
National Manager

Kirrily McIntosh
Operations Manager

Sonia Morabito
Communications Coordinator 

Laura McCauley
Administration Assistant/Receptionist


Adrian Watts
Corporate Director

Doris Leake (part-time)
Finance Coordinator

Suzanne Rochester
Executive Coordinator